gift kitchens and God’s care, take two

IMG_8068

You’re not going to believe this. I don’t even believe it. People keep giving me kitchens, it’s like a theme. If you’ve been with me for a while, you may remember my precious English friend who showed up with food, hugs, and an adorable little wooden kitchen for the girls when Norah was two, Harriet was zero, and we were all unwell our first winter in England. I had pangs of missing her very badly this week as I re-lived my own history when a wonderful new friend appeared at our door with this gift for my children. I re-lived history–with an Indonesian twist. My friends, this woman brought this to us on a motorcycle. (Have I written about the Motorcycles yet? Oh, right-I haven’t written about anything yet . . . )

As soon as the kids were in bed I cleaned, de-stickered, sanded, painted, and varnished. Yes, I brought acrylic paints and gloss varnish from the States (though I forgot hair products and extra underwear). Doesn’t everybody?

We happened to be in a hardware store-ish place on Tuesday and I found some little cup hooks. Rounding off the expenditure for this remodel at 65 cents.

Within two days we had this. Wally’s been cooking on it all afternoon. (Don’t order the meatballs.)

20160105_165312

You may not understand it, but I just love this. I love Jesus, who sends me messages in the strangest ways.

Soup’s on.

20160105_165308

This entry was posted in Keep House and Carry On, Little Ones, Make Do and Mend. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to gift kitchens and God’s care, take two

  1. ging says:

    Oh, Betsy, I love every single part of this. This does not surprise me in the least – God’s care, nor your having acrylics and a varnish at the ready. 🙂 You are doing it – planting where He has taken you with whatever resources He has given you. That little kitchen will forever be a treasure to you (even 30 years from now). Love you, dear friend. I think of you continually and long to talk – can we find a way to do that soon?? Sending much love your way!

  2. Cara says:

    This is it! This is what we have been talking about. God is doing it. He is caring for your heart in ways you wouldn’t even know to ask for. And he will keep doing it. I love this. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Andrea says:

    Your heavenly Father knows what you need before you ask him. (Matthew 6:8)…your heavenly Father knows you need them all(Matthew 6:32). What a blessing to hear how our heavenly Father is providing in particular ways for your family.

  4. Kay Lynn says:

    I love this reminder…..because God knows us so very well! He knows what we would especially enjoy. This story makes me think of a few times when God has surprised me with a gift like this…..but mine are different gifts (usually clothing or a book….for me or the kids). He richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment. That’s a gorgeous kitchen he brought you and Wally! 🙂

  5. Sondra says:

    ALWAYS ALWAYS love hearing from you, a burst of sunshine. I get it. And I get that you took the paints and not other essentials. God gets it too and keeps lavishing HIs love in the right places.

  6. Jean Nelson says:

    Oh Betsy, this brought tears and joy to my heart. It’s monumental when our loving Father, the God of the universe, shows us His love and care in such a personal and detailed way as to say, “I see you, I know you, I know what you need, I love you.” Thank you for sharing this. Love, Mom

  7. I love this! The kitchen looks so cute! I just love when God shows us His love by blessing us with the “little things” we love and desire.

  8. Lydia says:

    I love those encouragements in small things! Cute reno on the kitchen, by the way!

Leave a Reply

