and be glad in it

20150306_110712The clouds opened over Delaware all yesterday and the world is covered with white. Then this morning the sun arose and filled the world with sparkles, the snow magnifying its usual brilliance to dazzle-point. It is the kind of day that makes me think I’ll miss winter. (A little.)

20150306_100402Even though the roads are clear, all the schools are cancelled for the sheer joy of living. This doesn’t affect us much, except that Daddy decided to work from home this morning. (Above see Hugh letting Daddy work.) I love it because it feels like a weekend. I haven’t had a weekend in so long. Two weeks ago I had just arrived home from the hospital after nearly all week there being treated for complications following gallbladder surgery. Then last Friday I had to return to hospital unexpectedly with more pain and complications and they didn’t let me out until Saturday night. It was rough. (I hope I’m on the mend at last, thanks to all who have been praying for me in this trial!) Sometimes it just feels so good to be home, with the sun shining and the children’s voices and gingerbread cookies in the oven.
20150306_112128It was fun sending the children out in the snow. Soak it in, remember it, my heart was telling them. It will be a while before we see it again. Wally wasn’t out very long, but his encounter with snow is hereby documented:

20150306_111856(0)Hugh liked it, too.

20150306_110833Hugh and Norah demonstrated their lack of real winter experience by struggling to play with a toy lawn mower in ten inches of powder. (Have you seen the #notscholarshipmaterial?)

20150306_111115Harriet’s toy of choice wasn’t any more appropriate, she chose a butterfly net. One of the more endearing things about Harriet is her habit of grabbing a word, any word, and plugging it in for a word she doesn’t know or can’t remember. She was industriously clearing the walk this morning (with the butterfly net) yelling loudly, “Look at me, Mom, I’m digging it up with my enchilada!”
20150306_110818Crazy little poppets.

20150306_110553

This entry was posted in America, Little Ones. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to and be glad in it

  1. Sharon Mac says:

    Oh how I love those wee poppets all snug as a bug in a rug! I so wish that I could have been playing in the snow with y’all. Oxford missed out on any substantial white stuff, but I’m so glad that y’all got some!

  2. Cara says:

    Seriously? That’s Wally? Are you sure? Are you sure that’s not a perfectly proportioned, absolutely adorable porcelain doll or something. He is amazing. How do you ever put him down? Those eyes. Ugh. Now I will probably have to have another one….

Leave a Reply

