prayer request

My children attend Awana at the church on Wednesday nights. Norah is a Spark, Harriet is a Cubbie, and Hugh is a Puggle though he is not yet two. Norah loves being in Sparks. Recently her class had their annual Crazy Hat Contest. Tired though I am, I was determined not to be the bad mommy for this one. In the afternoon Norah and I designed a glorious white straw chapeau, trimmed with a hilarious abundance of silky blue ribbon in an oversized bow. We finished the hat with the top off a pineapple in the kitchen fruit bowl. She looked stunning, in a Carmen Miranda sort of way. It was raining, so Alex carefully shielded Norah wearing The Hat with an umbrella across to the church–and returned with the hat ten minutes later. The Crazy Hat Contest, he said, was next week. Norah entered Sparks in all her bonneted glory–alone. “She looked a little forlorn,” he said. “She kept looking around for all the other hats. But there weren’t any.”

Parenting fail #9832. To make it worse, the following week we were all sick with a virus and had to stay home. No Hat Contest. We had the virus for an entire week and I was hit the worst. After four days of it, my blood pressure and pulse shot so high I had to go the hospital for an IV and to check on baby. He’s okay for now–but three days later something else developed.

I have been diagnosed with something called obstetric cholestasis. Basically, it means that I itch intensely all the time. And the worst is, there are some serious potential risks for baby. I have to have an ultrasound every three days to check on him, and the hospital will induce labor as soon as he reaches 37 weeks (in about ten days) so as to protect him from a much greater risk of stillbirth after that point. This is my fourth pregnancy and this is the most serious complication I have ever experienced. The thing about the nausea and the sciatica and the other things I have dealt with is that they do not harm the baby. Now, baby is in danger. I have to live each day of the next two weeks knowing that all the time. Please pray for the safe arrival of our little boy, praying readers. And pray that his mommy will be strong in faith and trust God, whatever he brings.

This entry was posted in Being Mommy, Little Ones. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to prayer request

  1. Kay Lynn says:

    Absolutely. I am praying already.

  2. Micki says:

    Praying for you and Alex, and for a safe arrival for your precious child.

  3. Oh Betsy, I cannot imagine!! I am praying for your little boy, for you, and for your family.

  4. Dana says:

    Praying for you and your baby, Betsy.

  5. Lydia says:

    Oh Betsy, I am praying. May the Lord sustain you, protect your sweet baby, and give you the peace that passes understanding.

  6. Emily McCall says:

    Will be praying for you!

  7. Ashlea says:

    So sorry to hear this. Betsy, I will be praying for you as you face this discomfort and even more the concern of your baby. Praying peace and health and a very safe arrival of your sweet boy.

  8. Lindsey lehtinen says:

    Praying right now and will continue! Praying that you would experience The Lord as your mighty sustainer, especially these next two weeks.

  9. Susan says:

    Praying over here in Munich. Peace and strength to, the baby, and the whole family.

  10. lindasgalvin says:

    Praying for an end to your discomfort Betsy and the safe arrival of baby. Prayers also for Alex, Norah, Harriet and Hugh at this anxious time for the family. Let Norah know that God would have loved seeing her in all her ‘behatted’ glory as well. With much love Linda x

  11. Debara Hafemann says:

    We will pray! May the Lord give you all the courage and strength you need…while you
    wait. This comes with so much love for all 6 of you!

  12. betsy says:

    Thank you so much for all of your prayers and words of encouragement, everyone!

  13. Debbie R. says:

    Praying for you, Betsy, and your dear family and baby. Praying for faith and trust to ‘bear under’ this circumstance and for the well-being of you all.

  14. Cara says:

    Oh Betsy. We are praying here at Herzhouse, and we will pray for you and baby everyday until he makes his arrival.

    When I thought, “My foot slips,” your steadfast love, O Lord, held me up. When the cares of my heart are many, your consolations cheer my soul….But the Lord has become my stronghold, and my God the rock of my refuge.

  15. Lucy says:

    Praying for you x

  16. Sondra Burnett says:

    oh you dear . . . I have been following you for about a year now I think. Always enjoy your posts, your spunky look at life, your pioneering spirit in following your husband and God anywhere and your dear family. You are a great writer. I was originally drawn to you for the readings your husband and you created for Advent and Easter. Bless you as you persevere in the next weeks . . . may the Lord give you patience, endurance and HOPE. He is there and will be faithful. PS LOVE AWANA too. All 4 of our girls went thru it and now I have the joy of seeing my grandchildren in AWANA. SORRY about the crazy hat night . . . hope you still got a picture.

  17. Abigail says:

    So very sorry to hear this! I will pray for you and your little one. My mother and sister both suffered with cholestasis of pregnancy. It is fairly rare, so I’m so glad they got you diagnosed! Much love to you as you continue in trust and hope.

  18. godadmirer says:

    Praying God would be the stability of your times, that His peace would be the guard against worry, and that nothing would separate you from His love.

  19. kkosobucki says:

    From the ends of the earth, I will cry to You,
    When my heart is overwhelmed,
    Lead me to the Rock that is higher than I.
    -Psalm 61:2

    When understanding freaks out and runs away, may you have peace that is SO much deeper. Thinking of you and praying in these tense days!

Leave a Reply

