Flexitarian Contest Update

IMG_4147Many thanks to all the people who have taken time to send along your favorite vegetarian recipes! We’ve already been busy sifting, choosing, making, and tasting them for the last two weeks. If you haven’t had a chance to send yours in yet but you still want to participate, we’re accepting recipes through this Friday, February 28.

Give it a go: if yours is chosen, the prize is a copy of the beautiful new cookbook Meatless (2013) by Martha Stewart Living. What’s great about this book as opposed to some of the heftier volumes is that it contains a reasonable number of modern, delicious vegetarian recipes beautifully illustrated. Also, one of my favorite recipe sources is Martha Stewart Living/Everyday Food. Their stuff is healthy, made from scratch with fresh ingredients, creative, and up-to-date.

I am planning to run a series of the best eight recipes, beginning with the contest winner. Based on the number of entries, the series will probably run at the end of March or early April. I know I’m no food blogger, but I’m really enjoying this one. I hope the posts provide some fresh ideas when you get your veggie on. (Yes, I just wrote that. Time to make coffee!)

This entry was posted in Food & Cooking it. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flexitarian Contest Update

  1. Sarah says:

    I know I missed the cut-off date, but just for your benefit, I thought I’d share one of our favorites, Masoor Dal. The recipe is on my blog, along with a couple of other good ones that fit the bill. That dal has been the most popular recipe with the family and among my readers, though. Our journey to flexitarianism has mirrored yours. A couple of my constant sources for vegetarian meals (after you’ve exhausted all your new, great entries) are the blogs Smitten Kitchen and Orangette. I look forward to adding to my repertoire from this series of yours!

    • betsy says:

      Sarah, this is great, thank you! I will head over and check out what you have when I get a chance. Smitten Kitchen is a favorite website of mine (have you had their chocolate pudding??) and I used to read Orangette years ago–glad to be reminded of it. Be blessed and happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

