of Longwood Gardens and putting down roots

IMG_2415A big part of blooming where you’re planted is reconnaissance, don’t you think? I’ve become so fond of giving people advice lately, I probably already wrote about that. We’ve been steadily trying to learn about our new location and all it has to offer–we’ve even recently had the dubious honor (thanks to some new friends) of sampling scrapple.

Speaking of blooming and plantings, we recently had the most wonderful day at the local beauty spot: Longwood Gardens. Gardens and plants are something beloved by our entire family. During our Oxford years our favorite (I feel as though I should put “favourite” there) place was the Botanic Gardens and we spent many, many hours there just soaking it in. It’s hard to say who was the happiest when we, having run through freezing rain, entered the conservatories at Longwood.

IMG_2315IMG_2318January and February are the wonderful months for orchids, one of my favorite plants of all time, and Longwood boasts a spectacular orchid house. Just now they have an “orchid extravaganza” going on. Stunning is an understatement. We enjoyed finding our favorites and meeting new varieties.

IMG_2411

These are orchid chandeliers. Norah and I instantly made plans to contrive one of these for our home when we move to southeast Asia.

IMG_2427The children’s favorite part was the children’s garden with touchable water features of various interesting varieties. Longwood thoughtfully provides towels for little people: we needed them!

IMG_2324 IMG_2338IMG_2346The next shot is what happens when I try to get a picture with my children. Immediately after the shutter closed, they were all seven feet away. One Christmas we had this “great” idea of giving our moms a family picture (which may seem a bit egocentric, but all I can say is that this is the one thing both moms seem to constantly want when we are together) and then updating it frequently with fresh family photos. I think we’ve only taken one family photo since (and that under duress) and that was three years ago! Here’s why:
IMG_2359Before I had little children I thought that I would just train them all to sit perfectly still when told for photographs. (Brief pause for hollow laughter.) Plants, at least, don’t wiggle.

IMG_2416 IMG_2374 IMG_2398

IMG_2330
Norah and Harriet being cacti.

IMG_2362Daddy being cuddly.

IMG_2355By way of icing on the cake, as we were leaving there was a violinist playing at the entrance to the conservatories. Norah instantly asked for another coin for the wishing water. “Do you know what I wished?” she said as we left. “I suddenly remembered that I forgot to wish for a violin!”

IMG_2436There’s always next time–we’ll be back.

This entry was posted in America. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to of Longwood Gardens and putting down roots

  1. Haley says:

    I kept thinking, “Who is that little boy in all the photos? Did they go with friends?” Took me a little while to realize it was Hugh! He’s so big!

Leave a Reply

