Five Things to Do and One Don’t

IMG_4174

I stated recently that perhaps I should write a series about leaving and starting again, since my life seems to have given me so many experiences of this type. I was joking at the time: I don’t like blogs that give advice. (I say that knowing that on this one I have told you in loud and bossy tones to buy a parmesan cheese grater, make celeriac crisps without delay, never use ice cream as a potty-training tool, and chew on your Bible. I’ve probably said other stuff, too. For the record, I still stand by those injunctions. In fact, if you haven’t got the grater yet, quit reading and go immediately.)

I can’t write about leaving right now. That’s not nice when it is still years away, it’s brutal when you’re in it and the goodbyes are flying fast and thick. But, with leaving behind us, I’d like to share a few thoughts on the next part: starting something new, mainly a new place or a new culture. Though I’ve probably learned most of it the hard way, none of the stuff forthcoming is rocket science and probably none of it is original (except any embarrassing stories I may include, those are totally my own). Still, here’s my advice for free.

Series overview:
Starting Again: Five Things To Do and One Don’t
Do #1: Be a learner
Do #2: Be an appreciator
One Don’t: Don’t compare
Do #3: Turn off your defensive mechanism
Do #4: Jump in (with both feet) right away

Do #5: Befriend the natives

This entry was posted in Keep Calm and Carry On. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Five Things to Do and One Don’t

  1. mom kirk says:

    betsy i hope that you have the time and the will to write this blog…I know it won’t easy because there is so MUCH faith in your next steps….not knowing where you and your darling family will land… not knowing what you will be doing in that place…how will you live in that place… these sound like struggles to me … In Christ all things are possible…trust in the Lord and lean not on your own understanding and He will make your paths straight….I have just started a new book about Praying Backward – it is excellent – i will write some passages to you and send it to you if you haven’t read it. May the Lord shine His face upon you and you lift your face and enjoy His Light. love you – mom

  2. betsy says:

    Thank you so much, Mom. Looking forward to reading them! Love you, too!!

  3. Pingback: Do #1: be a learner | part of the main

  4. Pingback: Do #2: Be an appreciator | part of the main

  5. Pingback: One Don’t: Don’t compare | part of the main

  6. Pingback: Do #3: Turn off your defensive mechanism | part of the main

  7. Pingback: Do #4: Jump in (with both feet) right away | part of the main

  8. Pingback: Do #5: Befriend the natives | part of the main

Leave a Reply

