Easter Readings (starting tomorrow)

IMG_2521

As some of you may remember, Alex and I wrote a series of twenty-four Advent Readings for the Very Young for our daughters (and this blog) back in December, 2012. I just wanted to mention that I wrote twelve Easter Readings for the Very Young (also in 2012) to post for the 12 days leading up to Easter from the Wednesday before Palm Sunday (March 20, 2013) through Easter Sunday (March 31, 2013). I’ve provided a list of headings below, if any one is interested in joining us in reading these with our little ones.

As I prayerfully considered this project, I decided to base the readings on the account of Jesus’ death and resurrection in the Gospel of John. Thus there is no reading on “Jesus is the Lamb” and I have gone to the synoptic Gospels for the account of the Last Supper. I have begun four days before Palm Sunday to get us thinking on the life of Jesus before Holy Week begins. That way, even though we may be reading at the moment in different places in the Bible, we can all pick up here and know where we’re at. I will be including activity suggestions for some of the days. Beneath each day will be listed the materials we will use for the activities, in case anyone is interested in the same activities and would like to prepare.

The memory verse we will be reviewing nightly with this series is John 15:13: “Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.”

Easter Readings for the Very Young
Wednesday (before Palm Sunday): Jesus Opens the Eyes of the Blind (John 9)blindfold
Thursday (before Palm Sunday): Jesus is the Good Shepherd (John 10)stuffed animals: lion and lambs
Friday (before Palm Sunday): Jesus and the Disciples (John 11:1-16)
Saturday (before Palm Sunday): Jesus Raises Lazarus (John 11:17-57)roll of toilet paper
Palm Sunday: Jesus Enters Jerusalem (John 12:12-19)palm branches; real or paper
Holy Monday: Jesus Is the Way, the Truth, and the Life (John 14)2-3 pieces poster board, brown construction paper or cardboard
Holy Tuesday: Jesus Has the Greatest Love (John 15)
Holy Wednesday: Jesus Washes Feet (John 13)water, soap, towels
Maundy Thursday: The Last Supper (Matthew 26, Mark 14, Luke 22)bread, grape juice
Good Friday: Jesus Dies On the Cross (John 18-19:1-30)a few candles
Holy Saturday: Jesus Is Buried In the Tomb (John 19:31-42)felt or paper figures
Easter Sunday: Jesus Is Risen (John 20)bells, musical instruments

This entry was posted in Easter Readings for the Very Young. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easter Readings (starting tomorrow)

  1. Sarah says:

    Thank you Betsy! I just printed these out, looking forward to starting tomorrow evening! We greatly enjoyed your Advent series, so I can’t wait to go through this one as well. I formatted everything in a Word document for easy printing, which I plan to bind in a folder like the Christmas ones for hopefully many years of use! If you’re interested, I can try to get my husband’s help in sending it to you in case others would like to have it all printed out in a few clicks. (The only thing I couldn’t figure out that I wanted to was to make a footer with your URL on each page along with page numbers. Thought that would be nice but I just couldn’t figure out how to do it.)

    • betsy says:

      Thanks for your feedback, Sarah. I’m glad the series will be useful for you guys! I’m aware of all the requests to have printable versions of the different series, I just haven’t gotten to it. I’m not sure totally of the best way to do it, I guess that’s stopping me. Also I have some plans for reworking the Advent series . . . one of these days!

  2. Jenn says:

    Hi, Betsy. I commented back during Advent with my thanks for those devotions and wanted to send along my thanks for these, too. We are always on the lookout for ways to celebrate Easter in a more grand way and to bring our kiddos along in their understanding and excitement as well. I looked forward to doing these with them each day. It may be because we are in such a similar stage of life (with kids ages 4, almost 3, and 1) with a deep love for Jesus, but your posts have really been hitting the spot. Thank you for sharing your writing.
    Jenn

Leave a Reply

