a sweet gift at the end of the day

IMG_5356

It’s nearly 8 p.m. The children have been in bed an hour and all has long been quiet. I am drawing on a canvas in the living room. Suddenly, I hear two little voices from the girls’ room. Walking slowly to the door, I pause outside and listen.

“No pushing, Harriet,” says Norah’s voice. “Jesus wants us to be kind.”
“Oh-kay!” says Harriet.

They shouldn’t be near enough to touch each other–they sleep in twin beds. I opened the door. The girls sleep in the dark, but their clock has a night-time screen with a graphic of a moon and stars on it that glows blue. By its light I see a mound at the end of Norah’s bed. I take a slow step forward.

“Girls? It’s Mommy. Is that you there?”
Norah answers me quietly. “Yeah. We’re having a snuggle.”

And up against the foot of the bed, tucked under their Nana-quilts, heads together on Norah’s pillow, are Harriet and Norah. They are side-by-side, enjoying the glow of the moon and the presence of one another. When I come near they start to giggle and cling to each other.

The sweetness that almost breaks your heart.

This entry was posted in Little Ones. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a sweet gift at the end of the day

  1. erinthicks says:

    After reading this the other day, I couldn’t stop thinking about this little scenario and smiling to myself. I have adopted your prayer for your girls for my own–that they would treasure each other. I love getting to see the fruit of your prayers. Love those sweet girls so much!

Leave a Reply

