reflecting on term one

Since we began our “homeschool”, Norah and I have completed 16 weeks of preschool together. I’m still not sure which of us is learning the most, but we’ve had a lovely time accomplishing our first term goals of enjoying ourselves, being consistent in our schedule (allowing for at least a week off when Hugh was born and another over Christmas), and developing good learning habits.

We’ve worked through many an exciting “Read-Aloud” and craft project, and finished a Bible unit in which we learned some attributes of God (that coordinated with each letter of the alphabet as we practiced them). I made a list of twenty-six attributes and found stories from the Bible to illustrate each. Tomorrow Term Two begins and I’m excited for what lies ahead. We’ll be working on learning to read at last and beginning a new Bible unit: “The Person of Jesus and the Love of God.”

Stay tuned for more of the preschool book units we’ve done (like this one) and ideas for preschool explorations at home in the coming weeks. And please, don’t forget to share some preschool ideas of your own in the comments–I need you!

This entry was posted in Being Mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to reflecting on term one

  1. Mert Tabbut says:

    You are doing great, Betsy!!!!!!!

  2. Haley says:

    I’m sure I’m not the only one who would love to hear more about your attributes of God study and your Jesus/love of God study!

  3. Susan S. says:

    I have no homeschooling suggestions, but wanted to say that I love your blog and my favorite is what your children say over on the right. It’s the first thing I look for when I sign on. Thank you for sharing these gems.

    PS: I can’t remember for sure how I found you, but might have been through Jodilightful.

  4. kristin says:

    I’ve been working on an attributes of God study for JJ but haven’t gotten very far yet. I’d like to hear more about yours sometime.

  5. Kendra says:

    I’d love to hear more about the attributes of God study, too!

    • betsy says:

      Okay, Haley, Kristin, and Kendra, when I can I’ll write more about what we did. It could stand a great deal of improvement, but hopefully it will be of some use.

  6. nateandmiriam says:

    I want to know about the attributes of God series as well 🙂

  7. Pingback: of the ABCs of God for Bible time, part one | part of the main

  8. Pingback: of the ABCs of God for Bible Time, part two | part of the main

Leave a Reply

