full steam ahead toward the new normal

I flew solo today for thirty minutes.

Alex had left for the library. I was holding Hugh on the sofa, the girls were playing with Play-Doh at the table. All was serene. And then my mother dropped a bombshell.

“I guess I’ll go take a shower.”

The room reeled. I clutched Hugh and all that I know to be true as tightly as I could. Fighting waves of panic I made a strenuous effort to keep my voice calm as I replied, “Good idea.” Then burst out with, “HURRY!” (Poor Nana.) She headed to the shower.

And there I was, holding down the fort in the living room with all three children. Fully awake (at least, they were). As Nana departed the ten paces to the bathroom I assessed my advantages: (1) It was not near meal time, but the after-breakfast lull in everyone’s feeding cycles. (2) Harriet was strapped into her booster seat and she is unable to unbuckle herself. (3) One bladder had recently visited the potty, two were covered with diapers, I felt I could hold on to mine.

Start to finish I was at the helm for one half-hour. Hugh slept. The girls play-dohed. No one cried, not even me. It was a very encouraging experience. Full steam ahead toward the new normal.

This entry was posted in Being Mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to full steam ahead toward the new normal

  1. Ashlea says:

    I LOVE it!!!! You made me smile.

  2. Jenna says:

    Seriously. Hilarious. Thank you for the great laugh this morning. Love it.

  3. Deanna says:

    Rock on Mama! You’ve got this!

  4. Lisa Ross says:

    Baby three can be overwhelming. Remember to take care of yourself and keep your expectations reasonable. You are a great mom, take a deep breath. Miss you guys. Congratulations!!

  5. Sam Cohen says:

    So… You begin by saying Hugh was awake, then you end by saying he was asleep.The story just keeps on changing…Next thing you know Alex will have taken the girls with him! Madame la mere, j’accuse. 😉

    • betsy says:

      He WAS awake, and then he was asleep. Sort of suddenly. You know how newborns are. They just . . . drift off.

      Well, Hugh drifted suddenly off. (It was great.)

      I think you should know that Alex is telling me to zing you for this snarky comment.

  6. kristin says:

    You must feel totally outnumbered! But…you can do this! You are a great mom. You will be a total pro by the time we get over there.

  7. Angela Williams says:

    I love this post and am right there with you! We are loving our 3rd little pne added to a 3yr old , 21month old and now 3wk old and I was a bit nervous when hubby went back to work. Loving every opportunity to put my 21month old in her booster for an activity since i can keep her in one place 🙂 Enjoy the new normal and thank you for sharing what I knew I was feeling and still feel as we embark on this new season…the Lord is faithful!

  8. Keli says:

    Wonderwoman!!

  9. nmwally says:

    Ha ha! Totally remember that feeling. You can do it! 3 is totally a manageable number. 🙂 Just reconnecting with your blog after a long break from having a feed-reader – love it. 🙂 Congratulations on your sweet baby boy…love his name, by the way!

  10. Pingback: three is the new six | part of the main

Leave a Reply

