a peppermint party for Harriet

Our peppy little girl is two! Yesterday we had a party to celebrate. We held it a week after Harriet’s birthday this year so that Nana could be present. It was the first time that either of my children have had a family member at a birthday party–it was so special! Last year we had to cancel Harriet’s first birthday party due to a six-week bout of pneumonia so it was Harriet’s first party ever. I had been a little worried that we’d have to cancel again if her baby brother picked yesterday to arrive, but, gladly, he’s already here and made a smashing debut at the party.

We served snacks (and peppermints, of course), blew up red and white balloons, and had a chocolatey cake.

It wouldn’t be a valid children’s party in England without a little “Pass the Parcel.” Harriet also received some lovely additional parcels from dear friends.

Harriet loved it when we sang “Happy Birthday” to her. And she got to blow out her candles twice because the first time Mommy set the cake down before the song was very far advanced and she blew them out instantly! We could tell that she felt really special.

And she is.

This entry was posted in Little Ones. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to a peppermint party for Harriet

  1. therigneys says:

    Happy Birthday, little one!! I LOVED seeing your mom in a picture!!!!!

  2. Em says:

    Happy Birthday, sweet Harriet!!! Wish we could’ve been there. Love you guys!!!

  3. Ashlea says:

    Happy Birthday to Harriet. 2 is FUN! Do people (namely you or your Mom) think she resembles you, Betsy? I could really see her mommy in her in some of these pictures. Well, you’re all a beautiful bunch. 🙂

    • betsy says:

      Yeah, right on, Ashlea. My mom and I both think Harriet looks a lot like me. Quite often people say that Norah does, but I’ve never seen it. I do see my own face in Harriet except pudgier cheeks (me being the one with the pudgier cheeks). 🙂

  4. Ginger OBrien says:

    Bets, she is beautiful! She looks just like you! How are you? I need a long update- so excited for you about Hugh. Miss you, friend.

  5. Candace says:

    What a sweetie. Love her so much.

  6. Erin says:

    Of course, leave it to my Bets to throw a perfectly adorable birthday party minutes after giving birth! You crazy, amazing woman (and you, curve-wrecker, you)!
    PS I agree with the above commenter that little Harriet looks so much like you in that last picture! I had never noticed it before now!
    xoxo

    • betsy says:

      Remember the Christmas party right after Norah was born? Can we say “low-key” ?? It was a blast, though. No one can sit in bed forever . . . I miss you, E. Why don’t you have that baby and get over here for a visit?

  7. kristin says:

    Harriet is darling! She is so cute. And yes, I think she is starting to look like you!

Leave a Reply

