preschool reading: Caps for Sale

Esphyr Slobodkina. Caps for Sale (1940).

Reading Strategy: Sequencing

Coordinating Weekly Activities:

  • playing “Simon Says”
  • dress-up clothes (and hats!)

Day One:
Read Caps for Sale and discuss

Day Two:
Reread Caps for Sale
Sequence story events by cutting and gluing photocopies of the illustrations from key parts of the story in order

Day Three:
Glue the peddler’s caps (pre-cut from construction paper) on his head

Day Four:
Reread Caps for Sale
Retell the story to Daddy/read it with him and hear about his memories of the story from when he was young

This entry was posted in Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to preschool reading: Caps for Sale

  1. KTSP says:

    You are brilliant. Why not write a curriculum?

  2. Mert Tabbut says:

    Oh, I hope you read The Wind Blew. I love Pat Hutchens books.

  3. Erin says:

    I read this as a kid, and my aunt re-introduced it to me and Felicity a few weeks ago. Since then, I’ve been reading it to F, and she loves it–all the hand motions and repetition. So do you do these activities with Harriet too? What does she do during your pre-school time?

    • Erin says:

      oops, Felicity and me. sorry. 🙂

    • betsy says:

      HI E! Whenever I can and she’s into it, Harriet just joins in on stuff. So I try and prep things that will appeal to her, too. She’s really into coloring for about five minutes, loves gluing, and loves storybooks, so for those things she joins us. Then Norah and I do other stuff together right after lunch once Harriet goes to rest time. It’s a bit tricky, I’m still working on how to manage them both–I don’t want to ignore Harriet, so often we just play all together if it’s not working until she’s in nap. Wish me luck when Junior arrives in a month, right?!?

  4. Pingback: reflecting on term one | part of the main

  5. kristin says:

    Wow. Your preschool is way more fun than mine! I wish I liked coordinating craft projects — the “glue the caps” project is so cute!

Leave a Reply

