little update

When I take one of my rare breaks from writing, beginning again is the hard part. Blogging hasn’t been like one of those classic relationships where you can “pick up right where you left off.” Perhaps because I’m more of a story-and-reflection blogger (in the main) than a pictures-of-the-kids/family-diary blogger, it always seems like there needs to be some sort of connection to what came before. So five days off because we had to move house easily turns to ten . . .

My kick-starting procedure involves a little update to get rolling again.
Today we are thanking God because:
(1) We have moved into a lovely new flat with the help of many wonderful people. There is no concrete, no mold, modern appliances, and we were able to remain in our favorite part of town. The flat is fully furnished–when we arrived the kitchen was already chock-full of kitchen supplies (Surprise!). So we boxed up the whole flat to store in the garage (once again, thanking God that we have no car) and then unpacked our things in a sort of chaotic storm of theirs and ours. We are now settled and so happy except when Mommy thinks about probably moving again in a year, which Mommy tries hard not to think about. (I have developed a strange twitch whenever anyone says the word “box.”)

(2) Our little girls were utterly unfazed by the move and love the new place. Norah, who is friends with most of the bus drivers and grocery checkers in town, has informed everyone that she and “my sistew Hawwet have a new house with our vewy own New Woom!” If they fail to react (or comprehend) she then prompts: “Isn’t that SO great?”

(3) Baby boy has been deeply inspired by the Olympics and is apparently already in training for Team USA Gymnastics 2030. Also, I do not have gestational diabetes.

(4) Our future plans remain foggy at the minute, but our God is unchangingly who He always was.

So all is well.

This entry was posted in Keep Calm and Carry On. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to little update

  1. Susan says:

    I really do love your blog. Thanks for the update. Ah yes, moving is hard work and the sight of a cardboard box can make a person cringe!.

    Blessings in your new place. Reading the last line of this post reminds me of a beloved hymn: “on Christ the solid rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand”. Praying you find moments of rest.

  2. Krisie says:

    Praise God! Way to go Betsy! Moving is never easy even if (and especially when) it is right around the corner. So glad you can look on the bright side and keeping your eyes focused on today and Christ rather than tomorrow (ie. moving next year). Our God is so good. Praying for you all to settle in well and for energy and good sleep for you especially at this time.

  3. I can really relate to having problems with a keeping a blogging flow. Once I stop or get out of my groove it’s tricky to find my voice again and just know how to pick up where I left off. But I’m glad you’ve picked up. : ) Thought of you this week when I followed a link on another blog to these shoes and lo, and behold, they are on sale.
    http://www.infinityshoes.com/Miz-Mooz-Womens-Dulce-Flat-Shoe-2525.html
    If you have small feet – they might still have a pair just for you. Hope so. : )
    love,
    cailan

    • betsy says:

      I wish I could, Cailan. Love them, love them. Thanks for the tip–I don’t often get one that fits me so perfectly–especially from a friend I’ve never met. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

