IT’S A . . . blessing

We are a girly household, one full of squeals and hair pretties and dresses and cuddles. When I do laundry, I wash a dark load, a towel load, and a pink load. Most of the children’s toys are kept in two baskets in our living room. For orderliness and ease of clean-up, I have taught them to put the baby-exploratory-type toys in one basket and the older-imaginative-play toys in another. This sounds complicated for them to grasp, but it was easy: the entire second basketful are pink. During our recent trip to the States Alex’s aunt gave Norah a book with trucks and cars. I was thrilled: we have two full shelves of children’s books and not one with a truck in it.

Worse yet, at this point Norah doesn’t like boys. Yesterday at lunch she spontaneously told Harriet that the only boy she likes to have around (besides Daddy) is her Uncle Roston. Just now I went to help her pick up her blocks and found all the male Playmobile dolls buried in the block bin.
“What are these for, Norah?”
“Those are all the brothers that died,” she said sadly. The entire dollhouse was full of girl dolls.

It carries throughout the family. We have five–soon to be six–nieces. We haven’t a nephew. Don’t misunderstand: I’m not complaining about this. I used to say long ago in my ignorant youth that I would probably make a better boy-mom than a girl-mom. It’s so funny to me now. The One Who Disposes certainly knows far better than I do!

I have mentioned that we are {delighted to be} expecting our third child. In the UK, mothers-to-be are routinely given an ultrasound scan at 20 weeks, where it is often possible to discover the gender of the baby if the parents wish to know. I’m in week 20 right now . . . and the scan is tomorrow.

Do we want to know? Yes, of course! I can’t wait to find out. And it is absolutely true when I say that we both feel that we’ll be very happy either way. A third daughter would be an extra-special blessing. And a son would be something new–but super-special, too. I’m having fun imagining how our family might be different either way.

Any guesses?

This entry was posted in Being Mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to IT’S A . . . blessing

  1. Amberly says:

    I am going with little girl Kirk #3! We can’t wait to hear how the scan goes and rejoice with you.

    Shhhh…we can’t let Norah share her dislike for boys with Madeline. At the moment she is quite pleased to be getting a little brother. 🙂

  2. Ashlea says:

    So exciting! I absolutely LOVE being a mommy of girls, and think I could be happy with a houseful of affectionate squealers. That being said, adding our son to the mix, has been a delight. He is a Momma’s boy, which I love, and has completely stolen my heart as well. You can’t lose either way!

    I’ll guess a boy for now. Then we would each have two girls and a little guy.

    Btw, Eva was certain Asa was a girl those first 20 weeks. She wanted a sister so much. She said the baby smelled like a girl to her. Ha! We took her to the ultrasound. When the lady said, “It’s a boy.” Eva was very serious and replied, “No, I think it’s a girl.” By the end of the day we finally convinced her that having a baby brother would be good too. She absolutely adores Asa now, and wants another brother. Her reason: Asa is my prince. We need another boy so Meg can have a prince too. 😉

    Prince or princess… either way is magical.

  3. abby says:

    I think you will have another girl!

  4. Haley says:

    Boy! (Second guess: Girl!)

  5. betsy says:

    I forgot to say that Norah now thinks it is a girl. Harriet says “Du-Dah!” whenever we ask her. We don’t know if this is intended to represent the word “girl” or is just proof of her hope that the baby will be just like Daddy.

  6. therigneys says:

    We are praying for a wonderful report from your ultrasound today! We are going to love baby girl or baby boy Kirk so very much!

Leave a Reply

