full of beans

When I told my mom I would have the use of a sewing machine and bean bags were early on my project list, she gave me a few cotton fabric scraps in bright colors from her quilting stash. The beans (dried cannellini) cost £2 at Tesco.

I cut the fabric into 6.5 inch x 6.5 inch squares and sewed them wrong-sides-together, leaving about a 1.5 inch gap to turn them right-side-out. With a quarter-inch seam allowance, this left bags about 6 x 6 inches. After turning them right-side out, I put about 250g (1 1/4 cups) of dry beans in each bag, then tucked in the edges and whip-stitched the openings closed. This was just the right amount of beans for each bag to be about two-thirds full.

Just for fun, before I sewed the seams I whip-stitched a number on one side of each bag with colored embroidery floss. The numbers and the circles beneath them I cut from felt scraps.

When I gave them to Norah and Harriet they were surprisingly excited, considering they had never seen beanbags before and had yet to realize what little bundles of joy and educational potential they really are. Norah did ask why I hadn’t made them pink, but my answer that not everything in the world can be pink eventually seemed to satisfy her (after saying several times, “Why not?”).

Stay tuned tomorrow for our {growing} list of beanbag games and activities, in case we can tempt you to join the Beanbag Club. And please do leave me ideas in the comments. I have some very energetic children to entertain here, people!


This entry was posted in Make Do and Mend. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to full of beans

  1. Pingback: of the {miniature} redecorating project: before | part of the main

  2. Pingback: of wee mouses in Altoid houses | part of the main

Leave a Reply

