oh, the potential

A wish I’ve cherished for eight or nine years has been fulfilled today, albeit temporarily. A friend has offered to let me use her (vintage) sewing machine for a few months, as she will not be using it. Oh frabjous day, caloo, calay!

I have two or three little projects lined up already . . . but they won’t take long.

Quick! Pick your brains, raid your Pinterest stash. Send me your best {simple} sewing project ideas or suggest them in the comments. I mean it–this is no time to be shy, people!

This entry was posted in Make Do and Mend. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to oh, the potential

  1. Micki says:

    Aprons! For you and the girls. I’ve taken to wearing aprons while I cook and now understand why my mom loved hers! (I even have one of my moms and found a picture from the early 60’s that she’s wearing it 🙂

    • betsy says:

      Thanks, Micki! Harriet is WAY too fat for the baby apron now and Norah could probably stand to have a new one . . . If only I could manage the project without my mother!

  2. probably should make yourself some merry bunting – enjoy your fun : )

    • betsy says:

      OOH! I love this–have always wanted to join the World-Wide-Obsessed-With-Bunting-Club but hadn’t the machine . . . would be adorable in the girl cave if I could gather fabric scraps in the right colors.

  3. Erin says:

    fun fun fun!!! you could buy some fun napkins and turn them into pillowcovers for a nice change in your den or the bedrooms…you could make some dishtowels…when you find out the sex of the baby (and esp if it’s a boy!) you could make some burp cloths or a blanket since you’ll be needing some non-pink stuff…you could make the girls little “pillowcase dresses” (link on my pinterest)…the possibilities are endless!! can’t wait to see what you make!

    • betsy says:

      Thanks, E! You are’t kidding about the dearth of non-pink stuff around here. I guess if it’s a boy he’ll have to grow to be pretty confident in his masculinity despite superficial evidence to the contrary—i. e. pink pajamas.

  4. Caitlin says:

    I’ve had my eye on this little project for some time now. http://elleapparel.blogspot.co.uk/2011/09/maxi.html
    You know, for all of the warm, summer weather we’ve been experiencing in Oxford. 😉

  5. sarahaspolson says:

    The possibilities! Shirred sundresses (using elastic thread in the bobbin) are so easy and satisfying. Also, check out the Black Apple doll (free tutorial and template here http://www.marthastewart.com/264299/black-apple-doll). Have fun, and post pics!

  6. Heather T says:

    Do a search online for toddler dress made from adult t-shirt. You probably have a couple laying around to up-cycle!

  7. Haley says:

    Fabric headband, zip pouch (if your machine has a zipper foot), burp cloths, baby or kid legwarmers, apron, tea wallet, baby or doll blanket, child’s purse, scarf, pajama pants, simple kid skirt, hooded towel, nursing cami, pillow slipcovers. Maybe napkins? Let me know if you need links to tutorials for any of those!

    • betsy says:

      You are the best! And thanks for reminding me that I wanted to make some tea wallets! I saw a plan for that somewhere that appealed to me but then forgot all about it. I might even have enough scraps.

  8. Elena says:

    Fun!

    Here’s my favorite link for a nursing cover (http://freshly-picked.com/breastfeeding-cover-tutorial/ ); simple yet effective pattern. I’ve also had success adding different ruffles and trims and I’m told that the bit of terry cloth in the corner is helpful, though there is mixed feedback on the practicality of adding the pocket.

    These hats are super cute too (would be great for gifting!) http://pinterest.com/pin/106186503684622815/

    A set of aprons for you and your girls would be really cute too; as you know, the possibilities are endless. : )

  9. Janet Conlin says:

    Love the Jabberwalky reference! (Did I spell that correctly?)

  10. Deanna says:

    Fun, fun, fun! My problem is never coming up with projects to make, it’s finding the fabric to do them. (Oxford is sorely lacking in options.) Let me know if you need a fabric shopping buddy. ( :

    PS – Did I do the smiley the right way? I still have no idea.

    PPS – Have you been to the new-ish shop Objects of Use yet? (Not for fabric. Just for drooling.)

    • betsy says:

      When I have spare quid-age I’d love to fabric shop–but where oh where do we go? And I love Objects of Use–I definitely go in there to drool, and to buy their Irish linen glass polishing cloths and colored gardener’s twine (90p!). And your smiley face was lovely.

Leave a Reply

