Lately Said: Norah and Her Daddy

In the side bar I like to write some of the things “Lately Said” around here that are making us giggle. These (and others that don’t make the blog) I save in our Family Dictionary of Words and Quotes for Future Enjoyment. I have received quite a few requests lately to compile these and share them so I decided to post some of these in groups. This is the first. Please do comment or share some quotables of your own!

February 2011
“Oooh, Daddy! You’re such a good little helper!”

April 2011
Daddy: Norah, I want you to please taste one bite.
Norah: I only will eat one bite if you pray to God.
Daddy: Dear God, please help Norah to obey Daddy. Amen.

August 2011
10:32 a.m. (Norah, looking out the window):
“Is Daddy home from work, do you think?”

October 13, 2011
(Norah, out of the blue at the dinner table):
“Excuse me, Daddy!”
“Yes, Norah?”
“When I gwow up into a gwown-up I am going to work at the Wadcliffe Camewa just yike you do, Daddy!”
“That will be great, Norah!” says Daddy, melting into a little puddle.

October 21, 2011
(Mommy and Daddy discussing borrowing a car)
Norah: Daddy you can use my car. I have a car, actually.
Daddy: Do you?
Norah: Yes, I have a pink one.

November 9, 2011
Norah: I needa put some makeup on you now, I think, Daddy.
Daddy: No, Norah. No makeup for Daddy. Daddies don’t wear makeup.
Norah: But I’m pretending you’re a lady.
Daddy: But I don’t want to pretend to be a lady!

November 21, 2011
(Norah at the breakfast table):
I can’t talk right now, because my mouth is very full. So if there’s anything you need to tell me I can’t answer you because I am full. So I will just listen, okay, and not be talking. You tell me if I disobey but I will not be able to talk to you, okay, Daddy?
Daddy: Yes, Norah, it’s very clear that you can’t talk right now.

January 10, 2012
Mommy (Making Conversation at the dinner table):
“If you could choose, would you rather go for a ride on a bicycle or go swimming?”
Norah, instantly: “Or grow a beard?”
Daddy: “I’d grow a beard.”
Norah, after a pause: “No, I think I’d go swimming.”

From the Mouths of Babes
January 2012 (and often, ever since):
Norah to Daddy: “Daddy, you’re not Daddy, you’re my Study-Dud!” (hysterical giggling)

March 11, 2012
Norah (calling from Rest Time): Mom-my! Dad-dy!
Daddy: What do you need Norah?
Norah (handing him a little booger): Here, I don’t need this anymore.

May 11, 2012
“Daddy, do you know what a Flingamom is? It’s a thing that swims down your throat and lands in your tummy and helps you to grow strong so you can push houses over.”¬† –Norah

This entry was posted in Little Ones. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lately Said: Norah and Her Daddy

  1. Peggy says:

    so sweet and so funny! precious words you are so wise to record for posterity!!! thanks for the laughs!

Leave a Reply

