two plus one is three

 I sat down to just rattle this one off and suddenly I feel so overwhelmed by the goodness of God in giving us our two precious children . . . and now one more on the way. We are expecting the newest little bundle around November 24, which means I’m 12 weeks today and the calmer seas of the second trimester are just ahead of us. The baby is about the size of an apple this week, and has fingernails, toenails, and tastebuds on a tiny tongue. Isn’t God’s creation of a person truly astounding?

We waited a bit to announce things this time, though we did tell the girls at Easter. I worried a little that Norah would spill the beans but I needn’t have. Even now that it’s okay to talk about it, if anyone asks her if our family has any news she comes out with “Oh! YES! We got some stickers with butterflies on them!” or the like. It’s hard to stay excited for one thing from April to November when there are so many, many things in the world worth thrilling over.

Harriet’s happy too as she is extremely maternal at this stage and the meticulous care of plastic baby dolls occupies much of her time and energy. She has been known to eat an entire biscuit with a baby doll on her lap, “feeding” Baby a bite before each one she takes, down to the last crumb. In the photo above we were at a hotel in Eastbourne and Harriet kept konking Baby’s head lovingly against the glass so as to afford her a better view. It’s a lucky baby that ends up with our Harriet. (Poor Harriet, soon to be a middle child.) I was a middle child myself and I don’t remember it being that bad. I think my older sister wanted to kill me at one point but fortunately I wasn’t old enough for this to make a big impression. I hear about it now in the oral tradition of family lore and it is impossible to tell, at this distance, where the fiction has ballooned from the facts. (I’m sure she was just being kind in an exuberant way.) I did like my little brother, though. Well, I do remember having mixed feelings at times as a child, but I certainly like him now. I have for a long time. So that’s all right.

Are we ready for a third child? Baby should arrive two weeks after Harriet turns 2 and a week before Norah finally makes it to 4. That sounds like a lot of youngness to me right now. But I wouldn’t change a single thing.

Oh yes, and do we want a girl or do we want a boy. Yes.

This entry was posted in Being Mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to two plus one is three

  1. goransonh says:

    Oh, dear Betsy, I am so thrilled for you and your growing family! This is very exciting news and I can’t wait to meet the newest member come…well, sometime later. Norah and Harriet will be wonderful big sisters. Wow… I didn’t catch it until right now – Harriet’s picture in her “big sister” shirt. I completely missed the clue!! So great. Give the girls hugs and kisses for me!

  2. Lindsey Lehtinen says:

    Yea Betsy! So very happy for you guys! We are expecting a little boy at the end of August. Lots of youngness is great 🙂 I really look up to you mama!

  3. Elena says:

    Oh, congratulations! I can’t just imagine what a sweet time this must be for you all!
    I’m so excited for you. 🙂

  4. Eileen Hardy says:

    Wow, Congratulations!
    I saw the big sister t shirt on the little sister and wondered if I had surmised right.
    God Bless you all!
    love, Eileen

  5. Ashlea says:

    This is a lot of youngness, but it’s wonderful. I have three now, all within the same range as yours will be. So many people told me how chaotic three is and how challenging it is to shift from two to three. As a mother (as you well know) there are always hairy moments where nothing seems to be falling into place, and so it is true being a mother of three that this can happen. But, I find three to be simply delightful and comfortable and sweet. You, my dear, will find your “normal” with three little ones to love quite easily, I suspect… and actually excel even.

  6. Keli says:

    Congrats!!! I think those are beautifully spaced out! 🙂 You are a great mom and this baby is going to be so blessed to join your sweet family!

Leave a Reply

