the little red hen

Once upon a time there was a little red hen who lived in a flat with her little Goat and a duck, a pig, and a cat.

One day the little red hen found a grain of wheat. “Look!” she clucked. “Who will help me plant this wheat?”

“Not I,” said the duck.
“Not I,” said the pig.
“Not I,” said the cat. And they waddled away for a rest.

 “Then I will plant the wheat myself,” said the little red hen. And she did.

When the wheat was tall and golden the little red hen knew it was time to cut the wheat. “Who will help me cut the wheat?” she asked.
“Not I,” said the duck.
“Not I,” said the pig.
“Not I,” said the cat.

“Then I will cut the wheat myself,” said the little red hen. And she did.

“Now it is time to take the wheat to the miller so he can grind it into flour. Who will help me?” asked the little red hen.

“Not I,” said the duck.
“Not I,” said the pig.
“Not I,” said the cat.
“Then I will have to take the wheat to the mill myself,” said the little red hen.
And she did.

The miller ground the wheat into flour and put it in a sack for the little red hen.
When she returned to the barnyard she asked, “Who will help me make the flour into dough?”
“Not I,” said the cat (and the duck and the pig).

“Then I will make the dough myself,” said the little red hen. And she did.

When the dough was ready to go into the oven the little red hen said, “Who will help me bake the bread?”
“Not I,” said the duck.
“Not I,” said the pig.
“Not I,” said the cat.

“Then I will bake the bread myself,” said the little red hen. And she did.

When the bread was ready to come out of the oven she asked, “Who will help me eat this bread?”
“I will!” said the duck.
“I will!” said the pig.
“I will!” said the cat.

“No you won’t,” said the little red hen. “You wouldn’t help me plant the seed, cut the wheat, go to the miller, make the dough or bake the bread. Now my little Goat and I will eat the bread ourselves.”

And that’s just what they did.

For Nana, who reads this book over and over on Skype, with love. 

You might also like: Goldilocks and the Three Bears

This entry was posted in Being Mommy, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to the little red hen

  1. Erin says:

    I die.

    You are the cutest, sweetest, most creative and precious family ever.

    I also particularly love the book selections of duck and cat (and how duck seems to be more interested in cat’s book!). How can I get F on miss cat’s reading plan??

  2. Jenny Rigney says:

    Joe says, “I like how Alex is working Gossie into the dissertation!!”

    • Alex says:

      Modern-day renderings of the Gossie story can actually be traced back to third-century Syriac recensions of the Gospel of Quack, a little known apocryphal tale of one of the animals present at the birth of Jesus. Red boots trampling the earth–doesn’t that sound apocalyptic bells for you?!

      • therigneys says:

        Interesting. I wonder if you compared that to the post-exilic wilderness narratives of the intertestamental era (I’m thinking in particular of the wisdom sayings of 1 Quackabees), that you would discover that The Gossie of the Gospel of Quack is actually a proleptic fulfillment of Isaiah’s blessing upon the boots of those who bring good news? – Joe

        What the Quack?! – Jen

  3. Mom & Dad N. says:

    Boppa and I enjoyed your enactment of “The Little Red Hen” sooo much!! We laughed and laughed! Thank you for sharing it with all of us. Love, Nana

  4. Em says:

    So adorable–I find myself riveted by all of you. 🙂 And Harriet couldn’t look any more like her mama. Encore, Von Kirk Family, encore!

  5. Candace says:

    We finished reading and Charlotte said, “I wanna do it again. Read it again! Read it again!…We should skype Nana pretty soon.” Hahahahaha. Thanks so much! We loved it.

  6. Courtney says:

    Oh Betsy, this is just delightful! Your girls are adorable. (I was going to say your family is adorable, but I wasn’t sure if Alex would appreciate being included in that label). I love that you get the whole house involved in the storytelling!

  7. Pingback: little red riding hood | part of the main

  8. Alison M says:

    Hi, Betsy & Alex! I just read your series of stories. The are brilliant! Thinking of you two.. and now all five of you! – Al

    P.S. The Greek NT was perfect, just like the cookbook and the Codex Quackinaticus.

Leave a Reply

