of relevance and skinny jeans

A few times I’ve done a writing exercise called “Five Minute Friday” over at the Gypsy Mama. You take the prompt, write for five and link it up. Today again I happened to see the prompt . . .

“Relevant”

I’ve begun being a study leader for college girls at my church here this term. Sitting around the table with them the first time I felt two things powerfully: my age and the differences between my life and theirs. I remembered something I haven’t thought about in a while but is true nonetheless–I’m not, never have been, very cool. What was I thinking? How am I going to be “relevant” for these girls? (I remember when skinny jeans were in the first time!) 

But my girls are delightful. Intimidatingly delightful. Absolutely lovely, fun to be with, and of course, ridiculously smart–that’s sort of a given in Oxford. So I’ve kept on. And as we’ve studied the gospel of Mark together I’ve been reminded. My life may not seem “relevant” for them at the moment–but God’s word surely is. That’s the great leveler. We all need that. (“I can’t believe you’re here,” I say to a girl whose fiancé was in town for the evening. “Oh, yes,” she says, “I need this!”)

We-the-church. We-the-different-parts-of-the-body of Christ growing up together in the faith for the glory of God. We-sisters. We walk together, life-on-life, as God has designed, and in that we grow.

This entry was posted in Writing and Stories I Tell. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to of relevance and skinny jeans

  1. “We walk together, life on life, as God has designed, and in that we grow”…Yes! So true. Thank you for your sweet story of the body of Christ being unified as you share in His Word. So very beautiful! Blessings to you…

  2. Yes! God’s word certainly is relevant! And relevant is more cool than cool, or smart or hip or young. Scripture feeds souls and we all need it.

  3. Oooh! I so loved your title and am glad I came by 🙂 What a treat! She gets it. And you helped her- skinny jeans and all. What a great thing you are doing, for them and for you! I want to read more. Thank you! And, a quote (because it’s relevant to your situ):

    “Christ will never be cool. Terrifying, life-changing, shocking, and iconoclastic, but never cool. Jesus is not my homeboy. The Gospel will always be ‘relevant’ but never trendy.”

    – Jon Foreman

  4. HopeUnbroken says:

    beautiful! it IS intimidating at times to minister to this younger generation. but as you’ve shown, God is always relevant, no matter the age. and younger women are hungering for mentorship, for someone to invest the time.
    blessings to you as you continue on!

  5. Tara says:

    “We walk together, life-on-life, as God has designed, and in that we grow.” Love that. So true!

  6. the love you show these girls make them feel relevant…that their life matters…therefore you feel relevant as well…isn’t this how the body works…the blood flowing in all directions…
    Blessings as you bless this next generation…

  7. I have a teenage daughter and feel the way you did with those girls most days and then have the same epiphanies. God in us, revealed through us is always relevant. Really enjoyed your post. My husband and I travel to England next month and seeing your pictures . . . I just can’t wait to get there with my camera. Blessings!

  8. Dea Moore says:

    Those girls are blessed to have you in their lives. Thank you for serving them. It is to God’s glory!

  9. Candace says:

    I loved this post, Betsy. Extremely encouraging. There’s a college-aged girl in my building that I’ve bumped into twice while walking the dog, and she literally seems like she just wants to talk to somebody. She stays to chat until I leave! I’m motivated to get to know her and share my faith with her. Your words really spoke to me, and just like these other women have said, these young women will sense God’s love as you invest your time. And God’s Word–you are so right–is ALWAYS what we all need, aka, relevant.

  10. Beth says:

    I’m so happy to have stumbled upon your blog through 5 Minute Friday – this post reminds me that we all have those moments of feeling “uncool,” of feeling irrevelant. But God IS relevant, and His word equally so, and when we engage in spending time with Him with others, we connect, no matter how “cool” we are. I bet you’re pretty cool, anyway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

