if i lived in a little house with this front door

. . . I would read the paper everyday.
. . . I would probably own a green bicycle with a big basket.
. . . I would wear grey wool jumpers.
. . . I would smell of gardenias.
. . . I would bake fruit tarts regularly for tea.
. . . I would know how to paint and play the piano.
. . . I would write eloquent and amusing notes to my sister on embossed stationery.
. . . I would probably be taking lessons in Italian.
. . . my sitting room curtains would be mustard yellow and white
. . . and I’d keep a vase of white hydrangeas in the window.
. . . I would garden in a large straw hat.
. . . I’d have friends in for soup every Sunday night.
. . . my girls would live in muslin with ribbons in their hair.
. . . my husband would walk to work and wear sweater vests and wellies.

No. Scratch that. No sweater vests.

This entry was posted in England, Keep Calm and Carry On. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to if i lived in a little house with this front door

  1. Elena says:

    Haha, that all sounds delightful and amazingly like my own life (if I lived in that little house, that is).
    I love each little detail, it makes me want to drink tea!

  2. cailan says:

    Here’s to making the storybook life a little more real…such lovely notions, dear Betsy.

Leave a Reply

