a little thankfulness

I’m thankful that today is both a rainy and a sunny day, not atypically for Oxford. This means of course that we have the cozy thoughtfulness of rain and the cheerful energy of the sun all at the same time.

I’m delighted because my fingers smell of garlic, my palms of oregano where I rubbed the leaves to crush them before brushing them into the pot. I made a batch of spaghetti and meatballs today that would bring tears of joy to the eyes of my Italian grandmother (if I had one). I’m thankful that the kitchen is warm and tomatoey with an undercurrent of chocolate cake.

I’m thankful for Norah, who has suddenly begun referring to everyone as “my dear.” “Shall we have some yunch now, my dear?” she says to me. “Let me help you with your bib,” I say. “Yes, you may my dear.” Instantly I am smiling, filled with delight at this precious precociousness. When we bring Harriet for kisses before her naps, Norah gives her a generous smack and a “sleep well, my yittle dear.”

I’m thankful for Harriet with a bow in her hair, who belly laughs if you say, “Boo!” And who leaps around in her bouncer like a goofy pink grasshopper.

I’m thankful for my husband, as steady as a rock–but so much funnier.

For what are you thankful today?

This entry was posted in Keep Calm and Carry On. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to a little thankfulness

  1. Juli says:

    I’m thankful for my husband who is doing the dishes while I’m reading your blog, after a long and sometimes unpleasant day 🙂

  2. I am thankful the Lord is “with us”…….I am thankful for the peace He gives. I am thankful
    that He is raising up bright, dedicated, talented young people to go out one day into His world
    and serve the church. I am thankful that on this side of life…… that
    this ministry life is worth the cost. I am thankful for a husband whose joy is the word and
    that even now – he is given the joy of teaching. I am thankful for parents and sons and daughter
    – friends and church family who tho’ we are far away are willing for us to be!

  3. Courtney says:

    I am thankful for your writing and that I get to read it! You’re wonderful Betsy!

  4. Patsy says:

    I’m thankful for that chilly in the morning, hot in the afternoon, chilly in the evening weather that reminds me of first grade in the fall. I always wore a sweater to school in the morning, promptly forgot it in the heat-of-the-afternoon return from school and remembered it the next chilly morning when I needed it for school.

  5. Mom & Dad N. says:

    I’m thankful for you, “my dear!” Love, Mom

  6. Peggy says:

    I’m thankful for your gift of writing and how this particular post captures the beauty of your domestic life. I also love making meatballs and sauce (my Nonna’s recipe) and chocolate cake -the perfect ending. This was a favorite meal growing up and still is!
    Love you friend!!

Leave a Reply

