simple potato soup

I’ve wanted to make potato soup for a while, seeing as potatoes are so abundantly available on this island. When yesterday dawned rainy I knew it was the day. I have no idea if this is a typical potato soup, as I have never made one before. Disclaimer: I have no idea if this is a “correct” potato soup. Since I knew I was going to have to make it with whatever I had on hand, I didn’t consult a recipe.  But the soup turned out hot, hearty, and delicious. As Norah said, “This one’s espeshawee yummy, Mommy.”

Simple Potato Soup
3-4 strips of bacon (smoked streaky rashers, in English)
1 small onion, chopped
3 large potatoes, peeled and chopped
3 c. homemade chicken stock*
1 c. water
1 tbs. fresh thyme and  1 tsp. parsley from the garden
kosher salt
fresh ground pepper
1 c. milk
handful shredded sharp white cheddar

Chop the bacon and fry in the bottom of a medium-large saucepan until crispy, stirring. Remove and drain. Drain or soak out most of the bacon fat, leaving about half of a teaspoonful. Add the chopped onion and sauté until translucent, stirring a bit to deglaze the bacon. Add pinch of kosher salt, potatoes, chicken stock, and water. Add the thyme and parsley, roughly chopped to release their essence. Simmer down over medium-low heat for about a half hour. I left it uncovered to concentrate flavors.

Remove from heat and blend soup. Stir in milk and return to heat, stir in cheddar. Check seasoning for salt, add fresh pepper.

Garnish with a few thyme leaves, the bacon and more cheddar (Americans can use yellowed cheddar here for color). Serve with crusty white bread.

*If you haven’t yet seen the light on homemade stock, you can use the store stuff but then use half water to lessen grease and salt.

This entry was posted in Food & Cooking it. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to simple potato soup

  1. cailan says:

    Looks like the epitome of comfy food. Love that we’re entering soup season again. 🙂

  2. betsy! do you know if this soup can be frozen? 🙂

    • betsy says:

      I haven’t tried it but I think it could, if you don’t mind a slight change in texture when you thaw it out. To avoid this you could not add the milk until you thaw and reheat–I think this might help. One variation I’d do now is leave some of the potato chunks un-blended–so it’s a bit chunkier. I think this would taste better. Let me know if you find it works to freeze it!

Leave a Reply

