big shots

When Norah was a baby I did a photography project of black-and-white photographs of her in and around our home in Massachusetts. I called the book “Big Shots” and it was designed to present our familiar surroundings through the eyes of someone very tiny. I wanted to explore the role that perspective plays in size: How big is the head of our neighbor’s horse Sam when one is twenty-five inches tall? Here are some photos from that project. 

This entry was posted in Make Do and Mend. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to big shots

  1. cailan says:

    You are on a roll with these posts, Lady! Lovely pictures – such a clever book idea. Hope you have a happy weekend!

  2. Courtney says:

    Wonderful book idea! The pictures are beautiful. Makes me feel little again! That first shot is absolutely amazing with all the texture on the floor…. such a fun post.

  3. Deanna says:

    Ah yes, I can see why it would be hard to leave that home… so lovely.

  4. therigneys says:

    All I can think of when I look at that first picture is, “I puked in that toilet when I was 8 weeks pregnant with Sam!” You were such a good friend to clean it up for me, you being 38 weeks pregnant at the time and all! 😉 love you!

  5. nateandmiriam says:

    love these…you should do some of black & white photos of harriet growing up in Oxford…

  6. Candace says:

    Really great concept, Bets. I love seeing Norah when she was so small again. Sigh. That was a great house!

Leave a Reply

