home is where our flat is

The children are resting, the dishes are done, I sit down for a second and breathe. The sun’s brightness grows and lessens as the clouds roll past far above the green grass and red brick of this town. It lights up my living room and the undercurrents of those far up breezes stir the curtains. I look around this eclectic crowded little room and realize it’s full of memories now. I realize it has imperceptibly slipped into the realm of the familiar. We’ve finally blown enough bubbles off the balcony. This is our home.

I’m probably just being nostalgic or sentimental because I’m going “home” on Monday, I think. Or because the Prodigies keep playing Paul McCartney’s “Yesterday” on the piano. Or because I’m sleep-deprived after a week of house guests and sick children. Why today? But I guess today’s as good as any day for feeling at home.

This entry was posted in England, Keep House and Carry On. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to home is where our flat is

  1. Courtney says:

    I don’t think I ever told you that I have made your scone recipe more times than I can count now. I love it! I mentioned it on my blog yesterday with a link to your post. I hope that was ok? If not, please let me know and I can change it. Hope you and your beautiful fam have a safe trip back to the US of A!

    • betsy says:

      Of course it’s okay, Courtney! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed it so much–it’s not really “my” recipe–all I did was substitute in buttermilk. 🙂 But I promise it tastes like the scones do over here. Come visit me and see!

Leave a Reply

