silly child

“I want to do it! I want to do it!” (As if taking a bit of toilet paper off the roll to use is a tremendous and delightful privilege, the denial of which will be unbearable.) She wants to scrape the last bit of yogurt out of the bowl, pull on her own trousers, and connect her own train tracks. The bowl often ends up on the floor, and the trousers are on backwards. As for the train tracks, often she can’t quite get them together and ends up screaming in frustration.

Silly child. Doesn’t she know that she has a parent who deeply loves her? Doesn’t she realize that I only want what’s best for her? That I’m here watching over her, waiting, able to help as soon as she needs me? As soon as her shrieked “Myself, myself!” becomes “Please help”?

I had one of those parenting days that ends in tears. I’ve spent a day striving and talking and scolding. I’ve pitched in with all my ideas and efforts, determined that I’m going to train this child. All by myself. And I’ve been shrieking in frustration all day because I can’t quite get things to line up.

And I find myself at the end of it, on my knees in the dark next to a sweetly sleeping little dolly, asking, “Please help.”

This entry was posted in Being Mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to silly child

  1. Janet says:

    And isn’t this just like us with our heavenly Father?

  2. Courtney says:

    I really love reading your writing Betsy! And the comments you’ve been leaving for me are so encouraging.

  3. Mom & Dad N. says:

    Betsy, I’ve been thinking quite a lot about the profound truth you shared in this blog. It holds true for parenting and for all of life. Thank you for reminding me that I can’t do “it” by myself. I love it that this reminder came from you, who at slightly over one year old, started wanting to do everything by yourself!! Thank you for sharing these thoughts so beautifully written. Love, Mom

  4. teamtabb says:

    been there. done that. oh wait — i’m still there! 🙂

    keep on keeping on, Bets. you are the best mommy for norah out there! the days are long, but the years are short … there will be fruit, right (i’m preaching to myself here!) 🙂

  5. cailan says:

    I’m right there with you with my little ones… surely persistence and grace will triumph – soon!

Leave a Reply

