welcome ayine!

I am thanking the Lord for the delightful gift of another precious niece! Ayine (ah-YEE-nay) Esther was born to my dear sister-in-law and brother-in-law on Tuesday, May 24th. Isn’t she just adorable? We can’t wait to meet you, little Ayine! Ayine is Ugandan, and it means “blessings.”

I hope my girls realize how blessed they are in respect to girly cousinship. When I was a child all my nearest cousins were boys. Then by the time I was ten years old the floodgates opened and in the next few years seven girls were born on my mom’s side of the family. I’ve enviously watched them all grow up together, the best of friends. I think, to them, my sister and I were sort of in that no-man’s land between the fun of the kids and the chit-chat of the parents. We could join in the activity of each camp but we didn’t belong fully to either.

My girls will not be in this situation! The family has all run to girls. They each have a cousin their age on each side of the family. Norah has Charlotte and Kyosi, Harriet has Harper and Ayine. And I now have six little girls to love. Blessings indeed.

This entry was posted in Little Ones. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to welcome ayine!

  1. nateandmiriam says:

    she has the sweetest face! i too had boy cousins. your girls are blessed!

  2. Candace says:

    Congrats!

  3. Erin Hicks says:

    Congrats Elena and Gideon and Kyosi! What a little beauty she is! She looks a lot like her big sis. How fun for all the girls to have each other. Felicity is very envious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

