every day

A few times I’ve joined Five Minute Friday, a writing exercise over at the gypsymama. You take the prompt, you write for five, you stop. (Loosely five, okay? Because I notice that everyone finishes their final sentence.) Today we’re writing about “every day”.

every day

I had a mentor once. A wise woman standing in a long and happy marriage, a mother who raised three boys, who had watched and waited through the heartaches of one child and welcomed him back from the pigsty to his father’s house. It has been nearly ten years but I can see her in my mind, head nodding, eyes big and saying, “The thing about life is that it’s so daily, right?” I realize now that she was talking about my life.

I awake in the fresh morning that dawns every day. Monday, Friday, Sunday, Today look the same. There is a baby, there is a tiny little toddler girl, there is a husband, there is a house. On waking the curtains must be drawn, the baby must be fed, the coffee must be made, the clothes put away, the breakfast made, eaten, and cleared. Everyone must be dressed and brushed, hugged and shushed. And if I am not careful, it is the List that will rise up to meet me when I open my eyes. If I am not careful I will just blindly begin doing things and the day will unfold itself in beauty unnoticed and the wisdom and the strength that I need will stay quietly out of sight between the closed covers of my Bible. And I will stumble on through the hours in the unconsidered assumption that this is all there is. In the sort of unending competition between myself and what I think I should accomplish, between myself and the practical tasks of my insular world that will all need to be done again in tomorrow’s day . . . or the one after that.

The birds sing a lot in England. They’re in full voice by five. What will they do today? Gather things, I suppose. Mrs. Bird will be about the practical tasks of her insular world. She’ll collect sticks and worms and other things insignificant in themselves and that will all need to be gathered up again tomorrow. But she’s singing first–she just naturally does it.

And the thing about the manna–it was only good for one day. (But in the morning, there was more.)

This entry was posted in Keep Calm and Carry On, Writing and Stories I Tell. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to every day

  1. Jen says:

    I loved reading your post! Thanks!

  2. Krisie says:

    Absolutely beautiful, it brought tears to my eyes. You need to start a devotional or something. Thanks for your well wishes about M. I’ll let you know how things go later today.

    I read this in ‘Jesus Calling’ and it has a similar theme, I bent the page over because I think I need this reminder every day…
    ‘Stop trying to work things out before their times have come. Accept the limitations of living one day at a time. When something comes to your attention, ask Me whether or not it is part of today’s agenda. If it isn’t release it into My care and go on about today’s duties. When you follow this practice, there will be a beautiful simplicity about your life: a time for everything, and everything in it’s time.
    A life lived close to Me is not complicated or cluttered. When your focus is on My Presence, many things that once troubled you lose their power over you. Though the world around you is messy and confusing, remember that “I have overcome the world. I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have Peace.”‘ -Ecc 3:1; John16:33

    Blessings,
    Krisie

  3. Hilary says:

    I loved this, Betsy! Especially your line about beauty and strength staying out of sight between the closed covers of the Bible – I needed that reminder, that I can’t see the world clearly until I’ve spent time with Him in His word. And I loved the whole paragraph about the birds. They just naturally sing. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we did the same?

  4. Mom & Dad N. says:

    Thank you, Betsy! This was a timely message for me. I’m afraid you get the looming “List” from me. I loved what you wrote and what the other bloggers shared as well. Such a good reminder to not forsake the Most Important Thing (or rather, One!)
    Love, Mom

  5. LOVE that I ran into you today from 5minutefriday. your photos are glorious. i love what you said—totally agree.

    life is the normal day to day and it’s in these day to days that we find life.

    keep it up mama!

  6. Love, love, love this! It is the list that so easily takes the prominent place in my every day. I’m working diligently to change that.

  7. mom says:

    Dear Bets, As I read from Chambers MUFHH this morning, I was reminded of your blog. His meditation was on “I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.” He said: “Sometimes it is not difficulty that makes me think God will forsake me, but drudgery. There is no Hill Difficulty to climb, no vision given, nothing wonderful or beautiful, just commonplace day in and day out – can I hear God’s say-so in these things?
    We have the idea that God is going to do some exceptional thing, that He is preparing and fitting us for some extraordinary thing by and by, but as we go on in grace we find that God is glorifying Himself here and now, in the present minute. If we have God’s say-so behind us, the most amazing strength comes, and we learn to sing in the ordinary days and ways.” I was up at 4:30 with dad this morning and the birds were singing with gusto…now when I hear them I will think of your English birds and you and remember that I too should make a joyful noise unto the Lord each day…love you, mom

  8. Erin Hicks says:

    I so needed this right when you posted it…and everyday really. (Sorry for my late comment.)
    And what took you FIVE minutes to write, I couldn’t have written in 5 years. you are amazing.
    (I love what Toni said too.)

Leave a Reply

