of my love for Oxford (panegyric)

Sometimes when I go out into this city and walk the ancient lanes shaded by majestic structures with their “dreaming spires”, I see them tall upon the earth, each a monument to its era, each a speaking statue. I hear them saying, “We too loved learning. We too deemed churches and libraries most worthy of embellishment and of what dignity men’s minds and hands could impart.”

Poets and novelists and astronomers and kings walked these lanes before me, philosophers and statesmen argued under that lamppost. I look at what they saw from the vantage point of knowing what they went on to do with the dreams they dreamt here.

I wander and I look and I think Oxford is unlike any other place on earth. It is ancient and it houses what is new in print and research and ideas. It is crowded and global and tiny and local. (The England of the English is a sort of host culture for this multicultural hodgepodge of peoples with their languages, foods, and fashions. And like all excellent hosts, it sets a tone but does not dominate the conversation.)

It’s a sort of Camelot for learners, this city. Oh how I love it.

This entry was posted in England. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to of my love for Oxford (panegyric)

  1. When one must be far from friends and family for the good
    of a “smart” husband whose calling means – you have one too,
    isn’t it grand that the place he prepares in – is Lofty and Lovely!

    Wishing you all the beauty you and your girls need to be happy –
    while your guy sits “where else” in the library!

  2. Oh, how I love it too! I am jealous you are there – I would love nothing more than to curl up on a couch somewhere in England and drink tea and meet you and your lovely family. You capture so much of what I love about Oxford in this post – thank you.

    • Hi Hilary! Thanks so much for your encouragement! Erin is here this week and she says she is curling up on my couch and drinking tea for you. Wish you were here to join us–we could connect the links!

  3. Pingback: how does your garden grow? | part of the main

  4. Pingback: a saturday in the cotswolds | part of the main

  5. Pingback: Bath, a salubrious place: part I | part of the main

  6. Pingback: of rain falling and falling | part of the main

Leave a Reply

