wee training, step four: wee-wards and wee-inforcement

Wee-cap: For those followers who may have missed earlier episodes, we have entered a new mode of life called Potty Training Our Toddler. We began with gusto, we petered out for a bit, and now we have finally wee-visited the issue. Our toddler, as you may recall, was very hit or miss with the BGP (Big Girl Potty). And then eight weeks of illness hit our household and we just maintained the status quo. Now we’re healthy again, and Mommy had to stop procrastinating. When I woke up Monday morning, I knew I had a simple choice before me: potty-train or die.

I would like to state at the outset that if anyone is looking for advice, examples, pointers, anecdotes, input or support on the subject of potty training there are many knowledgeable mums and dads out there just drooling to help you. I am not one of them. This ain’t modesty, it’s honesty. I cannot help you.  I would also like to state that it has taken a strong effort to dissociate my potty-training skills (or rather lack of them) from my self-esteem. I no longer envision myself calmly and successfully potty-training my child into a model wee-er in mere days so that I can believe that I am a good mother.

In the end, I just took away the diapers. For every success on the BGP Norah gets a sticker for her Dora chart and a tiny piece of candy. (Let me tell you it took some doing to wean her off the ice cream. Let this be a lesson to you. Let not anything fly out of your mouth without the approval of your brain.) We also celebrate like she’s just won the Derby despite long odds and a broken leg.  And we have done our utmost not to put any pressure on her and found it is much harder to train ourselves than to train our child. It has been three days. Three days is a long time, my friends. Jonah spent three days in the belly of the whale. But on the third he was discharged onto dry land. We took the plunge Monday (literally). By Wednesday there was only one real accident and the diapers are gone.

It’s been a long and complex process. And, as Yogi Berra famously said, it ain’t over ’til it’s over. But we’re well on the way. You might say we’re seeing wee-sults. At this moment I’m hearing that sweetest of all requests, “Mom-my! I need to use the Big Girl Potty!” Music to my ears. I gotta go.

This entry was posted in Being Mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to wee training, step four: wee-wards and wee-inforcement

  1. Alex says:

    My dear, you are a wee bit modest. What you and Norah have done is truly wee-markable. I can hardly wee-strain my joy.

  2. Haley says:

    You two are hilarious. 🙂

  3. mom k says:

    I am still laughing…thanks! and great job!! It is brave to go cold turkey – weediculous, I’d say…love you both and I am still giggling…mom

  4. erinthicks says:

    being the blog stalker i am, i have been wee-weading all your wee posts because i weeally love them. and i just saw your little tete-a-tete with alex. hilarious. counting down the days (34) til i see you again.

  5. Erin says:

    And here I am wee-weading them in hopes you can inspire me in weegards to training Felicity. I’m weeeeally scared!!!

Leave a Reply

