aprons

It wasn’t my idea. My surpassingly creative and gifted friend Ashley made Norah a miniature apron for her first birthday last December. Norah used to run around the house wearing it (plus an assortment of winter caps and one of my slippers…you get the picture). It was a sad, sad day when I realized it was way too short.

So I copied her design only made it larger, and this summer my mother helped me make it on her stellar sewing machine. (When I say “helped” I mean that I made the tea and ironed the fabric and she did all of the hard parts! Now my sewing friends, like Haley, probably are thinking, What hard parts? And all I can say is that, for me, it’s all a hard part!)

As you can see, we had to make it quite a bit larger! I used two fabric remnants from Ashley, and bias tape for the edges. We deliberately made it a little big, but Norah’s already enjoying it.

What about the old one? We kept it around.

We know someone who can use it.

 

This entry was posted in Make Do and Mend. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to aprons

  1. erinthicks says:

    Eeeeeeeeeee!!! Need. More. Baby pics!!! Those are the sweetest lil girls in the sweetest lil aprons!

  2. Mom & Dad N. says:

    Oh Betsy, the pictures of your girls are SOOOOOO PRECIOUS! Thank you for sharing them! Love Mom

  3. Haley says:

    Love the apron! The fabric is beautiful and I really like the design. I’ve been thinking of making one for Anna’s 2nd birthday, but the pattern I’ve had my eye on (http://sewliberated.typepad.com/Montessori%20Childs%20Apron.pdf) is for 3-6 year olds. I’ll have to scale it down for Anna, but it would probably be just the right size for Norah when she grows out of the one you just made for her.

    Oh, and for the record I’m totally intimidated by the embroidery and hand sewing that you do. I love sewing and am fairly comfortable with knitting, but the other stuff is what’s hard for me!

Leave a Reply

