thanksgiving

There were some tough moments today, an ocean away from family. Moments of feeling sorry for myself that it was mainly a keep-learning-how-to-care-for-two-kids-instead-of-one day. We folded laundry, read stories, had leftovers for lunch and just generally survived. It was weird having Thanksgiving day pass with no need to put on mascara. We skyped our families, all together and prepping for a big day of food and football and all the trimmings. No turkey for us, poor us, but I managed a chicken. With potatoes and carrots.

But times like this have a way of reminding us what’s important. If Thanksgiving is truly about giving thanks, who has more to be thankful for than I do? This year I am so grateful for my beautiful baby Harriet, for my precious daughter Norah, and for my loving husband. We are now a little family of four, with the opportunity to begin our own holiday traditions together. (Note: the chicken is not to become a tradition. Some things Should Not Be Messed With, and the turkey dinner on Thanksgiving is one of them!) I am so thankful for God’s goodness in sending us my mom to help us through Harriet’s arrival, I cannot even begin to explain what a blessing she was to us. And I marvel in my heart when I think about His faithfulness in helping us through what has been a long season of transition for our family.

It wasn’t a Thanksgiving like others I have known. But there were some moments of clarity, when I realized how truly blessed we are. The best moments of today? Probably when Norah was snuggling with Harriet.

This entry was posted in Keep Calm and Carry On. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to thanksgiving

  1. Peggy says:

    praying for you my dear friend, and remembering the blessings we enjoyed while you were with us…God has so many blessings planned for the future and for the present..may this encourage your heart anew! love you!

  2. Heather Labudde says:

    Hi, Betsy!
    I cannot believe how grown up Norah is either !
    Your recipe for the souffle looks wonderful. You seem so happy, and I am glad.
    Savor all the moments as they are so fleeting!
    Blessings to you all in Him,
    Heather 🙂
    ps-hope you got my card and one or two enclosed photos.

  3. Pingback: six months across the pond | part of the main

  4. Pingback: thanksgiving | part of the main

Leave a Reply

