here and there

I’ve been asked a few times about how having a baby in England compares to America.

The short answer: Both are wonderful.

The longer answer: In both places I was helped by a lovely midwife, and delivered in the hospital. Both girls were born with a head full of soft, dark hair. In both cases, Alex was, as he always is, an incredible rock of help and support.

The differences: In America, the nurses repeatedly said that Norah was “doing great” when she was being treated, etc. In England, Harriet was called “clever girl.” In America, Norah weighed 7 lb., 11 oz. In England, Harriet weighed 3750 grams. In America, someone brought me a drink of water afterwards. In England, Alex and I were served tea and toast. In America, I went home on the fourth day. In England, I went home five hours later.

This entry was posted in Being Mommy, England. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to here and there

  1. Haley says:

    I thought that first picture that was posted looked like you three were sitting in your flat with the white brick wall you had posted about earlier behind you!

    P.S. – something is on its way for the girls! I sent it last Friday, so I’m not sure when it’ll get there!!!

    I’m so happy for you guys!!

  2. Haley says:

    5 hours later! Do they offer any sort of follow-up after you leave?

    I love that they gave you tea and toast. 🙂

    • They actually come and visit you in your home and check on your care the next day and periodically thereafter. How periodically depends..we’ve had an issue or two with this. But it’s really a lovely way to do it, I think, and the tea and toast was delicious!

  3. therigneys says:

    FIVE HOURS LATER?!?!?! Um, no thank you! I must say that the tea and toast are better than water, but my two day stay in the hospital after I delivered Sam saved my life! I couldn’t even walk!

    How fun to have both experiences under your belt! 🙂

  4. Liz says:

    Thank you for these posts. They make me smile! I pray all is going well for the mommy who went home after just 5 hours!! Whoa!! She is not only a “clever” baby, but beautiful as well. Enjoy snuggling with those two little girls!!

  5. Kristin Tabb says:

    A late congrats to you ****s! Brian and I were thrilled to hear about the arrival of Harriet Dyne. Another beautiful **** in the world — yay!

    A couple somethings are on their way via Jenny.

    Love you!

  6. Haley says:

    Roger, being the financially practical one in our marriage, pointed out that you forgot to mention a big difference between here and there: cost!

  7. Jamie Hansen says:

    Hi Betsy! Em shared this blog with me and I love reading about your life in England. Auntie Em is very proud and was beaming with the news of little Harriet. Many blessings on your sweet, precious family. Take care! Hi to your mom! Lots of love and hugs,
    Jamie

Leave a Reply

