snickers

Today I made an atypical and impetuous decision. I bought a Snickers bar. I do not do this. The last time I had one was two or three years ago, it was bite-sized, and I picked it up from a pumpkin-shaped bucket at a bank. And, if I remember rightly, it was stale.

What happened was this. My little family are all sick today, even Alex, who Never Gets Sick. We needed herbal tea and chicken and such things. Being in the Mondayish situation of having no food in the house, I had to walk to town for groceries. And was again confronted with shelves of unfamiliar and oddly packaged food items. What do you mean? you may be thinking. 

These are flavors of potato chips. Seriously. I could not make this stuff up. My local shops do have a fair number of foods that are American. Sort of. (I think they sprinkle the chocolate chips on top of the cookies. In their defense, they probably don’t realize that this is cheating.)

Food selection is still a matter for concentration. The mind reels with thoughts: what are those called here, how much do I need in metric, what the heck is that, etc. And then, as I tiredly waited “in queue” for the checkout, a familiar sight met my eyes. It looked exactly like it has always looked (if you could ignore the “58g” instead of ounces in the fine print, which I did). I had a flash of homesickness, and dropped it in my basket. It’s sitting proudly in my cupboard now, beaming with American fatty goodness every time I open the door. Snickers, I think. The world is smaller than it seems.

This entry was posted in England, Food & Cooking it, Keep Calm and Carry On. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to snickers

  1. Patsy says:

    Don’t worry about the bad stuff in candy. You will notice that calories are not listed…only “Energy.” Megan and I agree with, what appears to us to be, a more sensible approach.

  2. mom says:

    A snickers would not have tempted me….but a butterfinger, now that’s a different story!! lots of love, mom

  3. Haley says:

    Thank goodness you can make your own “American Cookies” and don’t have to buy the ones you photographed! Ugh!

  4. Connie Sundquist says:

    I love this Betsy. It’s funny how something familiar can be so comforting. I remeber when Keli went away to college for the first time. As we were shopping for school supplies in Walmart…I told her that if she got homesick, to go to a local Walmart and just pretend that she was at home for a little while. I think I was the one that went to the Walmart and pretended she was in the next aisle. Guess it might work both ways. So glad God gave us some of His creativity!!

  5. Miriam Boone says:

    where are you grocery shopping??

    i always went to tesco…it was so funny though because several Brits told me it was a huge store..

    the stores are so tiny compared to here…but i always loved the cheese…have you tried any new flavors? there are lot of delicious ones…

  6. Alex says:

    A Snickers bar in the cupboard? Really? Funny how this is the first time I’ve heard of it . . .

    🙂

  7. Liz says:

    Such a funny thing…here I am in MN and I am longing to find a “Crunchy” and some “Chocolate Covered Digestive Bisquits” in MY cupboard!!

    Enjoy that little treat!! 🙂

  8. Pingback: six months across the pond | part of the main

Leave a Reply

