the baby name contest

Many have asked us if we have a name for our soon-arriving daughter. Yes. But we can’t answer the next inevitable question because we are of that frustrating type that admit they have a name and refuse to reveal it until the birth of the baby. Try and look on the bright side–we could be like my brother and his wonderful wife, who learned the gender of their baby and refused to tell us all. I had to knit TWO blankets–hers and his, just in case. Fortunately, the girl blanket was finished first and turned out the best.

There truly are practical reasons for our non-tell-all policy. The two best are that birth is historically the naming occasion. We like to be historical. Secondly, if people don’t like what you name your child, they tend to keep mum about it once it’s a done deal. Sort of like not admitting your vegetarianism once dinner’s been served. (Take note and be prepared to swallow your critique.)

But, having been a blogger for over a month now, I’m itching to do a giveaway. I thought it would be fun to introduce the Great Baby Name Sweepstakes. Each interested person may submit, via a comment on this post, one guess as to the baby’s first name. (E, you are disqualified!) If anyone nails it, we’ll send you a package from England containing something lovely and English.

By the way, it’s no use asking Norah. My parents tried that today and received two responses:
“Norah, what’s your baby sister’s name?”
“Baby!”
“What’s the baby’s name?”
My Shepherd.”

This entry was posted in Being Mommy. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to the baby name contest

  1. Haley says:

    This is my kind of game! Question: Can I enter more than one name?

  2. Patsy says:

    My guess: Sadie
    If I may have Brad’s guess: Natalie

  3. mom says:

    How about Clara ( bright, illustrious)?

  4. Heather Labudde says:

    Okay…okay okay… I am going to give two guesses then: one for Doug and one for me.
    MY first off the top of my head is Helen. Very British (ya know…Helen Mirren and all although I can’t spell her last name). The other name that I (hh-hmm..I mean Doug) thought of is Julia. My British cousin is Frances..but that is not my guess. It just doesn’t go with Norah. How can anyone do this game?! Had I had a daughter (years ago) she would have been Miranda Jane Alexandra. If not Miranda then Cordilia. I myself was given 4 names: Heather Veronica Carter Wistar (before I got married)..which is very UN-British! Generally, it is the male who gets four names in England (my male British cousin who is my age: Thomas Dominick Lawrence Carter). I used to love the name Lyrica until they turned it into a drug. How could they!? Hope someone gets the name right. That would be fun!
    blessings to you all!
    Heather Veronica Carter Wistar (LaBudde!)

  5. Haley says:

    Okay, I could list two dozen guesses but it’s time to commit: Audrey. Or (we’ll call this one Roger’s choice) Evelyn.

    Whatever it is, when she’s born and I hear the announcement I’m certain that I’ll exclaim, “But of course! That’s the perfect choice!”

  6. Sarah says:

    I’m going to put in my guess as Emma. Dave thinks it will be Shaniqua. What can I say? My husband is a little crazy. Love to you all!

  7. Jean & Barry says:

    My first 2 guesses (Emma & Julia) have already been guessed, so I am going to officially guess Ella. Dad’s guess is Elizabeth Madison.( He wanted to enter her middle name as well.) Whatever name you’ve chosen for this precious one– we know we’ll love it!

  8. Aunt Mary says:

    We’ve been writing a list of names and paring it down to our favorites. Here goes: Aunt Mary says “Chloe”; Heidi says “Olivia”; Caleb (after first considering Harold) says “Lucy”; Uncle Greg says “Ava”; and Daniel’s guess will be coming soon.

  9. My dear friend Jill just guessed “Adelaide.” We’ll enter it here on the record.

  10. Mom & Dad says:

    Grandma & Grandpa Fischer say “Hi!” Grandma guesses “Ruth” and Grandpa guesses “Lilly”.

  11. therigneys says:

    Okay, okay… Here are my top 10 guesses:

    1. Ruby
    2. Amelia
    3. Genevieve
    4. Lucy
    5. Maryann
    6. Frances
    7. Phoebe
    8. Gwenyth
    9. Nellie
    10. Josephine (after my husband, of course!)

  12. Kristin Tabb says:

    I would not be surprised to hear about a Lucy or a Nellie, or perhaps a Clara. Something kind of British-sounding to mark this season of your lives…that works with Norah.

    I vote for Lucy. Done!

    Maybe I’ll vote for Nellie as Brian’s guess. 🙂

  13. Let the record show:
    Charlotte, Juliet, Naomi, and Evangeline have all been guessed via my email.

  14. Auntie Candace says:

    I’m going to say…at first I thought perhaps Ada (someone else said Adelaide, which is close to that). And then, as I thought further, Lila came to mind, and I thought how cute it would be to put an ‘h’ on the end like you did with Norah’s name. Would be purty cute! Maybe it’s too matchy, matchy for you? Who knows but you!!! Absolutely cannot wait to find out, and to hear that there’s a healthy, I’m sure she’ll be beautiful, new little girl in the house! ~blessings to ya & yers.

  15. therigneys says:

    I thought of another…. “Olive”. I love that name for some reason!

  16. therigneys says:

    And “Violet” and….

    “June”…

    I’m giving you some of my top girl names! 😉 I’m pretty sure with all my guesses I have nailed it. Send me my gift.

  17. Amy says:

    Hi Betsy!!! My mom JUST told me about your blog! How fun!! 🙂 Anyway, my guess is Rose.

  18. Connie Sundquist says:

    Has anyone guessed Nicole or Nicki ?

  19. Aunt Becky says:

    Hi Betsy
    I have enjoyed reading about your life in England- thank you for sharing! The baby name contest is a very fun idea. My first guess was already taken, so I guess Rebecca. Has a nice ring to it, don’t ya think?

  20. Shelley Doyle says:

    Hmm gonna think hard about this! back soonish…….

  21. Aunt Becky says:

    Hi Betsy, Alex and Norah!
    I know each person is allowed only one guess, but I just talked to Grandma Irene and she informed me that she wished she had guessed “Lydia”. I figured you might give her special privileges as the Great Grandma so I told her I would officially enter it for her.

    I’m thinking of all of you very often and can’t wait to hear your news. I am also praying for safe travels for Grandma Jean today!

  22. erinthicks says:

    I had to come back and check on how the guessing game was coming along. it takes me back to 2 years ago when every time I saw you, I had 20 new names to guess. For old times’ sake, I’m going to guess Savannah Grace. 😉 Not very British, I know.

  23. Shelley Doyle says:

    Hmm I think i will send my guess by text just for fun, as I am already English and should not really steal the English treat reward.

  24. Pingback: The 2014 Contest: Flexitarianism! | part of the main

Leave a Reply

