gram’s chicken crumble soup

The first thing I really cooked up once the boxes were unpacked was my Grandma Nelson’s Chicken Crumble Soup. It’s the original totally-from-scratch hot and hearty chicken soup for the soul.There is a reason why this soup has been a family treasure for generations. Though it’s older ‘n a pig, as Gram might say, it’s not dated. It’s flavorful, healthy, simple, and inexpensive. The pot filled our cold flat this afternoon with herby chicken steam, and it was just the thing to give my little Norahgirl, who woke up yesterday with a bad cold. I always pair it with popovers.

Gram’s Chicken Crumble Soup
Soup:
5-7 chicken pieces on the bone (I use thighs or drumsticks to save a bit)
1 lg. onion and 3 stalks celery, chopped
1-2 cans/pkgs. chicken broth (or 2-3 c. water and bouillon cubes)
2-3 carrots, grated
salt and pepper
sage, parsley, thyme, or rosemary

Crumbles:
1 egg,  about 1 c. flour, salt

Put chicken pieces in stockpot on stove with onion and celery, brown all sides of chicken (don’t worry about them sticking a bit, doesn’t matter). Add 6-8 c. water and bring to boil, simmer on medium-low for 45-60 min. until chicken is done. Remove chicken (skim broth for bits/bones with slotted spoon, just in case*) and remove skin and bone, tear into pieces. Add back into pot with grated carrot, chicken broth, and all seasonings. I use lots of sage, thyme, and parsley, and a pinch of rosemary. Simmer on low.

For crumbles, beat egg in a small bowl, add 1/4 c. cold water and a pinch or two of salt. Stir in flour until the mix is stiff and stringy between your fingers. Drop into the soup in strings/clumps–not too thick. Simmer at least 20-25 minutes.

*Can skim for fat if chicken pieces were fatty. Can also trim this before tossing chicken in the pot.

This entry was posted in Food & Cooking it. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to gram’s chicken crumble soup

  1. therigneys says:

    As your best friend, I can honestly say that I jumped out of my knickers (I said knickers just for you!) when I saw your popovers! That means your popover pan made the cut in the move! I was also happy for you when I saw your other appliances in your previous pictures. I guess I’m just happy that you won’t have too many hindrances doing what you love to do for your family…cooking!

    I love you. Give kisses to our sick little Norah Jane…

    • At first the P. pan didn’t fit in the oven and I was sad, but then my brilliant man said something along the lines of, “Why don’t you turn it the other way” and I did and it fits! The appliances didn’t make the cut cuz they won’t work here, but we did buy a new crock pot and we picked up a used toaster for 2 pounds! (What else do you need, right?) MISS YOU!

  2. Peggy says:

    yummy, Betsy, thanks for the recipe! can’t wait to try it! it’s turning soup weather fast around here! and btw, I’m buying fresh blocks of parmisan now, thanks to your influence, my friend. praying for you all as you get settled in. hugs!

  3. Sarah says:

    Yum! Salted butter too? It looks like a perfect meal.

  4. Therigneys says:

    Bets- were you being sarcastic about salted butter in your comment or do you not know about unsalted butter?

    Unsalted butter is the best kind to use (especially in baking) so that you can better control the amount of salt in your dishes, especially sweeter dishes.

    I’m assuming you knew this, but if not- I felt it my responsibility…

    • Thanks, Jen! Sarah and I have a longstanding debate about unsalted butter that dates back to a time when I made popovers at her house, and all she had was unsalted butter to eat with them, which to me was like the frosting on the cake without sugar…

  5. Sarah says:

    I plan to try out this recipe soon! (Regardless of the butter debate…) It looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

